Pavlov announces $5 million in road repair projects

LANSING—State Sen. Phil Pavlov announced Thursday that $5 million in grants from the Michigan Department of Transportation (MDOT) will fund several road repair projects in St. Clair County.

A grant of $2.8 million will be used to repair Lapeer Road from Beech to Wadham. I-94 BL from Military Street at Water Street will be fixed using another grant of $1 million.

Grants totaling $1,390,000 will be used to repair Wadhams Road at the Lapeer Road intersection, Shea Road from Palms to Marsh, and Lapeer Road from 24th Street to 32nd Street.

“Every community deserves good, safe roads,” said Pavlov, R-St. Clair Township. “Responsible budgeting in Lansing has enabled us to direct existing resources for these critical repairs. I am pleased these projects are getting the necessary funding to improve our region’s infrastructure.”

MDOT officials and legislators from across Michigan announced a series of road repair projects at locations across the state on Thursday, Pavlov said.

Governor approves life-saving device for Michigan schools

LANSING—State Sen. Phil Pavlov, R-St. Clair Township, applauded Gov. Rick Snyder for signing important legislation that will help protect Michigan children in the case of life-threatening allergic reactions at school.

House Bills 4352 and 4353, sponsored by state Rep. Lisa Lyons, R-Alto, were signed into law by Gov. Rick Snyder on Tuesday.

Amy Jeffers Radomski, a local mother from Capac, came to Lansing to testify in support of the bills. Her daughter Ashley is severely allergic to eggs, peanuts and tree nuts. She carries an epi-pen twin pack, antihistamine and a rescue inhaler with her at all times in case of an accidental exposure or ingestion.

“We can now supply a simple life-saving device to our schools that will keep our kids safe,” said Pavlov, who chairs the Senate Education Committee. “I am grateful to the Radomski family for their hard work in helping to prevent unnecessary tragedies for other Michigan families.”

Under the new law, two epinephrine injectors, or epi-pens, will be placed in each Michigan school, and staff will be trained to use them. Epi-pens are the most effective emergency treatment for anaphylaxis, a life-threatening type of allergic reaction. The injectors are simple devices used to immediately get epinephrine into the allergy victim’s system, slowing down the allergic reaction to give emergency personnel time to treat and save the student’s life.

HBs 4352 and 4353 are now Public Acts 186 and 187 of 2013.

Pavlov’s anti-poaching legislation penned into law

LANSING—Gov. Rick Snyder has signed into law Senate Bills 171 and 172, now Public Acts 175 and 176 of 2013.

PA 175, sponsored by state Sen. Phil Pavlov, R-St. Clair Township, increases existing fines for illegally killing a protected animal and imposes additional penalties for poaching trophy bucks. PA 176, sponsored by Sen. Tom Casperson, R-Escanaba, increases fines and penalties against violators who trespass on private property.

Pavlov (second from right) is pictured with Snyder (seated), and, from left, Amy Trotter of the Michigan United Conservation Clubs; Sen. Tom Casperson, R-Escanaba; former Michigan Department of Natural Resources conservation officer John Borkovich and Jim Pryce, president of Tri-County Sportsmen’s League.

Note: For a print-quality version of this and other Pavlov photos, click the image.

Sen. Pavlov honors 2013 state champion St. Clair High School boys cross country team

LANSING—On Tuesday, state Sen. Phil Pavlov, R-St. Clair Township, joined state Rep. Dan Lauwers, R-Brockway Township, in honoring Coach Jon Davidson and the 2013 St. Clair High School boys cross country team. The Senate recognized the team for winning the MHSAA Division II State Championship for the second year in a row.

The team finished with a record of 207-0, extending their undefeated streak to 398. They have qualified for the state tournament each of the past 14 years, currently the longest active streak in Division II.

The members of the team are:
     Macon Boes
     Matt (Buddy) Brosky
     Walker Child
     Adam Gizowski
     Collin Higgins
     Trevor Holowaty
     Kevin Huffman
     Jack Keais
     Austin Kromroy
     Matt LaMontagne
     Ryan Parslow
     Andrew Schneider
     Paul Schneider
     Cody Smith
     Jared Unger
     Dan Williamson

Note: For a print-quality version of this photo, click the image.