Pavlov named to education quality workgroup, looks forward to ensuring standards for all students

LANSING—In response to being named on Thursday to the bipartisan Workgroup on School Quality created under Public Act 277 of 2011, which lifts and eventually removes the cap on the number of university-authorized charter schools in Michigan, Senate Education Committee Chairman Phil Pavlov, R-St. Clair Township, issued the following statement:

“Every child in Michigan deserves a quality education, and every school has a responsibility to help deliver that.

“Rigorous quality standards have been in place for charter public schools for nearly two decades, and I look forward to leading this conversation about ensuring those standards for students throughout the entire system.”

Other members of the workgroup appointed by Senate Majority Leader Randy Richardville and Speaker of the House Jase Bolger include Sens. Patrick Colbeck, R-Canton; Bruce Caswell, R-Hillsdale; and Hoon-Yung Hopgood, D-Taylor; and Reps. Ken Yonker, R-Caledonia; Bill Rogers, R-Brighton; Mike Shirkey, R-Clarklake; and David Rutledge, D-Ypsilanti.

Pavlov will serve as chair the workgroup.